Defensive Driving Questions
Has the New York DMV approved your Online Defensive Driving Course?
YES! Our course is provided by American Safety, Inc. and has been approved by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles.
How long is the New York Defensive Driving Course?
The online defensive driving course is 6 hours long. Please keep in mind that you will have the ability to log in and out of the course anytime you choose.
After I complete the course, how much of an insurance discount will I receive?
New York State law guarantees that you will receive a 10% discount on your liability and collision coverages.
How long will my insurance discount last?
The insurance discount for taking the online 6 hour course will last for 3 years.
After I complete the Defensive Driving Class, how do I receive my insurance discount?
Once you have completed the course, you will be mailed your certificate of completion. If you present your certificate to your insurance company or agent within 90 days after course completion, your liability and collision premium reduction will begin immediately, retroactive to the date you completed the course. If you present your certificate more than 90 days after course completion, the insurer may issue the premium discount effective from the date presented.
I’m in the New York assigned risk pool. Can I still receive the insurance discount?
Absolutely! Anybody who is the principal operator of a vehicle and completes the Defensive Driving in NY will receive a 10% insurance discount.
How often can I take the Defensive Driving Course?
You may take the course every 3 years for the insurance discount. You may take the course every 18 months for violation point reduction.
How many points will be reduced from my license?
Taking the defensive driving course will reduce 4 points from your license. The point reduction cannot be used as a credit for violations that have not yet been received.
© 2015-2017 NYDefensiveDriving.us, All rights reserved